Other National and International Registries

Individuals diagnosed as Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency have the opportunity to participate in research and clinical trials in both the United States and Europe. A primary means of gathering sufficient diagnosed individuals is through enrollment in a patient registry or tissue bank. Registries exist throughout the world and can be found in the following countries:

UNITED STATES

Alpha-1 Foundation Research Registry
Charlie Strange, MD (South Carolina)
www.alphaoneregistry.org

Alpha-1 Foundation DNA Tissue Bank
Mark L. Brantly, MD (Florida)
www.alphaone.ufl.edu

Alpha-1 International Registry
Edward J. Campbell, MD (Utah)
www.aatregistry.org/usa.html

ARGENTINA

Guillermo Menga
mengag@ciudad.com.ar

AUSTRIA

Dr. Karin Schmid-Scherzer
karin.schmid@2me.wil.magwien.gv.at

Prof. Friedrich Kummer
friedrich.kummer@2me.wil.magwien.gv.at

BRAZIL

Jose Jardim
joserjardim@yahoo.com.br

CANADA

Kenneth Chapman, MD (Toronto)
www.alpha1canada.ca

Diane W. Cox, PhD (Alberta)
Tissue Bank
www.medicalgenetics.med.ualberta.ca/faculty

DENMARK

Asger Dirksen, MD
www.alfa-1.dk

GERMANY

Claus Vogelemeier, MD, Robert Bals, MD
alpha1@med.uni-marburg.de

IRELAND

Prof. Gerry McElvaney
gmcelvaney@rcsi.ie

ITALY

Maurizio Luisetti, MD
http://alfa1at.drupalgardens.com

NETHERLANDS

Jan Stolk, MD
j.stolk.long@lumc.nl

NEW ZEALAND

Michael Epton, MD
crrg@chmeds.ac.nz

SOUTH AFRICA

Gillian Ainslie, MD
gainslie@uctgsh1.uct.ac.za

SPAIN

Marc Miravitlles, MD, Rafael Vidal, MD
www.separ.es

SWEDEN

Claes-Goran Lofdahl, MD, Eeva Piitulainen, MD, PhD

SWITZERLAND

Prof. Dr. Erich Russi
erich.russi@dim.usz.ch

UNITED KINGDOM

Rob Stockley, MD (Birmingham)